Dogtique: Rescue of a Lost Friend

Before there was Lassie, there was this dog:

Rescue of a Lost Friend print

Howling for help.

This faithful collie is part of my late grandfather’s collection of dogtiques.

According to my grandmother, this print belonged to my grandpa’s mom, which means it has been in the family for a very long time.

Unfortunately, the part of the print with the artist’s name and the picture title was trimmed to fit into the frame so many years ago. However, a little online research helped me learn a bit about this popular image.

What artist is responsible for this picture and what it is called are all up for debate.

The artists Walter Hunt, Edgar Hunt and Albert Schenck have all been attached to pictures that look like this but have been commonly called “Found,” “Shepherd’s Call” or “Rescue of a Lost Friend.”

My grandmother, who has dealt in antiques for most of her life, swears she has come across this picture many times over the years, with the title “Cry for Help.”

Whatever the truth may be, I enjoy this picture. What do you think of it?

To learn more about the controversy, click here.

For a fun collie blog, check out Collies of the Meadow.

About crystalwayward

I live with two formerly wayward dogs. I care deeply about the environment, and I think gardening is a revolutionary act.

Posted on June 19, 2013, in Art, Dogs, Family, Random Life and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. I just love old prints like that.

Leave a Reply

