Local Treats: Porter’s Pet Pantry

Way back on Mother’s Day, I swung by the farmer’s market at City Market in Kansas City.

My goal was to pick up some fresh or potted flowers for my mama. But what I ended up with were chocolate linguine noodles, a hand-painted flower pot filled with six ounces of fudge and a bag of locally made dog treats.

Porter's Pet Pantry

The dog treats were for my pups. They came from Porter’s Pet Pantry, a local company I had not encountered before.

The family of Porter – a chocolate lab who inspired the business – makes a rather large line of wholesome dog snacks in a professional kitchen in the River Market.

Nate, who I chatted with, explained to me that the company started with liver slivers, a pure meat treat, and the offering has grown from there. What I took home for Luke and Scooby was unlike anything I have bought for them before: waffles.

Actually, these were Chicken-N-Waffles, little silver-dollar-sized waffle-shaped biscuits made with wholesome grains and real chicken. They were crunchy and, apparently, tasty.

They were eaten up before I thought to take a photograph and the packaging disappeared. Oh well, we will have to hit up Porter’s Pet Pantry again.

You can learn more about Porter’s Pet Pantry at the website and on Facebook.

Have you discovered any local treats lately?

About crystalwayward

I live with two formerly wayward dogs. I care deeply about the environment, and I think gardening is a revolutionary act.

Posted on May 24, 2013, in Dogs, Food, Random Life and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Our local pet supply, greenDogGoods, makes their own chicken jerkey, dried lamb lung and liver jerkey. It’s a huge treat for Ray and I’m always confident that it’s well made and safe.

  2. I’m sure that they are treats that my doggies would love 🙂

Leave a Reply

