The Saddest Picture in the World

When I was a little emo kid, I would stare at this picture every time I went to my grandparents’ house.

The Lost Playmate

“The Lost Playmate” by Gustave Henry Mosler

This framed 1902 print of Gustave Henry Mosler‘s painting “The Lost Playmate” originally belonged to my great aunt Vera, a kind and hunchbacked old woman I can barely remember.

Upon her passing, my grandfather acquired this piece of Victorian art and it became a central piece in his collection of old dog prints and figurines.

My grandfather has been gone about a dozen years now, but most of his collection still decorates the house he shared with my grandmother.

“The Lost Playmate” will always be my favorite, but come back tomorrow, and I’ll show you more of his beautiful collection of dogtiques.

About crystalwayward

I live with two formerly wayward dogs. I care deeply about the environment, and I think gardening is a revolutionary act.

Posted on May 1, 2013, in Art, Dogs, Family and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 7 Comments.

  1. it’s realy such a sad picture, but as always when you watch pictures, you can make your own story about …

  2. It is a sad picture but a lovely piece to have in the collection.

  3. Very poweful emotions behind this one.

  4. What a lovely picture – do look forward to more.

  1. Pingback: Another Farewell | Wayward Dogs

  2. Pingback: Dogtique: Last of the Litter | Wayward Dogs

  3. Pingback: Dogtique: Rescue of a Lost Friend | Wayward Dogs

Leave a Reply

