Reading Material as Home Decor

image

Have you ever wondered what to do with a wine rack if you’re not storing wine in it?

Research related to my ongoing office transformation project revealed a clever solution that also helps me mitigate paper clutter.

Turn the empty wine rack into a magazine rack!

I have a hard time parting with magazines, especially ones that contain an article I’ve written, so I have amassed a rather large collection. Fortunately, they roll up nice and look pretty good tucked into the places where wine bottles could go.

image

In case you’re wondering where my wine bottles do go, the answer is in our kitchen and dining room.

If you’ve been following this blog for long, you might recognize my wine rack as the base of last year’s seedling nursery.

While I opted not to start any seeds this year, I do have a few houseplant cuttings incorporated into the scene.

And because I love books, I’ve also turned them into part of the decor.

image

Have you ever used a wine rack for something besides storing wine?

Come back tomorrow to learn why the main shelf of my wine rack looks a bit like a shrine to Charlie Machete.

About crystalwayward

I live with two formerly wayward dogs. I care deeply about the environment, and I think gardening is a revolutionary act.

Posted on April 23, 2013, in DIY, Projects, Random Life and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 8 Comments.

  1. Empty wine rack? What’s that? My hubby doesn’t know how to keep an empty wine rack he’s always getting new wine. However, if he wasn’t keep his stock up I think your idea is pretty cool!

  2. I think that is a great idea. Congratulations on all your published articles.

  3. Great idea!! Congratulations on your articles.

  4. Great idea!
    ps, I’ve given you an award:-) http://wp.me/p2h87n-QA

Leave a Reply

