A Beautiful Day to Take Your Dog to the Museum

Don’t be fooled by that headline.

I did not take any of my dogs to the museum.

But on Saturday, a lot of Kansas City folks did – well, they went at least as far as the the museum lawn.

image

Dogs on the Lawn was a first time event hosted by the Nelson-Atkins Museum of Art.

Festivities included paws-on art projects, DIY dog apparel decoration and a few pet-friendly vendors including Kansas City’s brand new food truck for dogs.

People with dogs got to participate in paw painting – finger painting for dogs. The results were very colorful and abstract, but all the pet parents seemed proud.

Those interested in more serious art inspired by their animals could order a custom portrait from Ashley Corbello, a local artist who specializes in pet paintings.

boston terrier painting

Boston Terrier painting by Ashley Corbello

I decided I would like Ashley to immortalize Scooby the elderpin in a painting sometime soon.

But in the meantime, I headed to the DIY screen print area, where local art students were helping folks customize cloth accessories for their pets.

With the yellow dog project in mind, I chose a fabric scrap that I thought might work as a t-shirt for Scooby.

For decoration, I chose the shuttlecock, which is a nod to the famous sculpture that lives on the Nelson-Atkins lawn.

shutlecock

The real reason I came to Dogs on the Lawn, however, was to play with the puppies help at the Midwest Adopt-a-Bull table.

The group currently has five adorable pit mix puppies available for adoption. Three of them attended this event, along with their mama and another adoptable adult male.

The puppies were such a big hit that by the time I got to the event, they were pretty much crashed out. (I picked them all up and snuggled them to my chest, anyway.)

pit bull puppies

Two of five pit bull mix puppies now available for adoption.

The coolest thing I discovered at Dogs on the Lawn was Kansas City’s first food truck for dogs.

Good Dog 2 Go serves homemade, grain-free treats (which the puppies loved) and Bowser Beer, a non-alcoholic beverage for dogs that is made on the West coast.

image

I grabbed a bottle for the boys at home!

Come back tomorrow to see how they liked the brew!

Although we missed each other, Our Waldo Bungie’s Emily and adoptable Moby the Wonderdog also attended Dogs on the Lawn. Check out the post here.
About crystalwayward

I live with two formerly wayward dogs. I care deeply about the environment, and I think gardening is a revolutionary act.

Posted on April 8, 2013, in Dogs, Pit Bulls, Random Life and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 13 Comments.

  1. This is so freakin cool!!!!

  2. Beer for Dogs – cannot wait to hear if in favor or not! Happy Monday:)

    • Happy Monday to you, too! I think it’s hilarious that we crazy dog people now anthropomorphize our dogs so much that we think they need their own beer. Where will it all end?? 🙂

  3. What an awesome event! I’m curious to hear about this beer tomorrow!

  4. I am so bummed we missed each other – and bummed that I missed the food truck!

    • Honestly, I barely made it to the event – and only for the last 45 minutes. I think we’ll see more of that food truck. I’m cooking up some ideas for collaborative fun with them… 🙂

  5. Sounds like a wonderful event and, I fear, I would have done the same to the puppies, crashed out or not. That food truck sounds brilliant.

  6. Looks like a great event. Who could resist those sweet little puppies!

  1. Pingback: Page not found | Wayward Dogs

  2. Pingback: DIY Duds for Your Dog | Wayward Dogs

  3. Pingback: Frankie Has a Question | Wayward Dogs

Leave a Reply

