Solving the Sergeant’s Piddle Problem

Gilles and Linda Auger started making diapers for their cat Bowie and later for their rescued Chihuahua ChiChi.

“From this experience, we decided to create our own hygienic clothing manufacturing company for pets.”

cat named Bowie wearing a diaper

Bowie the cat

Now, that is one agreeable cat.

As I mentioned in my last post, I recently received from the Augers’ company Créations Entre Chats Et Chiens a pair of custom-made diapers Sergeant’s uniform to test on my incontinent elderpin Scooby.

image

The overall-style diapers are designed kind of like a Thundershirt in that two straps wrap around the front of the dog’s neck/chest area and fasten with velcro.

image

Velcro straps also secure the diaper part of the garment to the piece that wraps around the dog’s back.

The garment itself is constructed with three layers of waterproof fabric. On the area that covers the problem area, there is a netting in which you can tuck a sanitary napkin for added protection. (In order to be more eco-friendly, I just used old fabric scraps.)

image

In theory, I like the Augers’ design a lot.

The velcro straps allows some flexibility in the fit. If your dog is having a fat day, you can just let it out a little.

Unfortunately – most likely due to my poor measuring ability – Scooby’s diaper doesn’t fit snugly enough. It bags out around his bottom, and the straps aren’t long enough to tighten it around his belly as much as he needs.

As a result, he is able to wriggle out of his little sergeant’s uniform and continue doing his business where he pleases.

Furthermore, the fact that some of the scratchy part of the velcro touches his underbelly encourages his desire to get out of his diaper.

While I cannot say for sure that the overall-style diaper has saved us from any accidents in the house, it is pretty cute (if, like me, you appreciate camo dog clothes).

image

If I can con a friend with sewing skills into helping me alter the the diaper a bit, I think there is hope for its functionality.

However, I would recommend that the Augers switch the placement of the male and female velcro strips so that the dog’s skin can only ever possibly come into contact with the softer bristles.

In spite of this product not working out perfectly for us, I still encourage others to check out DiapersforDog.com, where the Augers sell their pet accessories to an international audience. (Just pay more attention when you are measuring, unlike me!)

This small company is new; the proprietors are friendly; and they are still perfecting their designs and rolling out new ones in a variety of attractive patterns.

I am happy we had the chance to try this handmade product and wish the Augers luck with their business venture!

Have you discovered any cool new pet businesses lately?

Disclosure: I received a free product in exchange for this review. All opinions expressed here are honest.
About crystalwayward

I live with two formerly wayward dogs. I care deeply about the environment, and I think gardening is a revolutionary act.

Posted on March 24, 2013, in Cats, Dogs, Dogtography, Reviews and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 7 Comments.

  1. Awesome company and I’m sure they really appreciated your feedback!

  2. If they’re new, your feedback is vital. Not a perfect solution now but here’s to them encouraging (specifying?) exact measurements and more give on fat days!

    • Agreed! They did specify exact measurements. However, I was not using a cloth measuring tape, so I don’t think my measurements were exact. Also, I think I started too high on Scooby’s neck. My bad!

  3. He looks so darn cute all curled up, just want to scoop him up and hug him 🙂

    Good review and I am sure they will appreciate your feedback.

  4. Good for them, trying to find a solution to assist the elderly or sick animals. Pity it didn’t work for you but I’m sure many get a huge benefit from it.

Leave a Reply

