Dogtiques

All the women in my family love garage sales.

vintage print of victorian woman and dog

Vintage print of Victorian woman with dog.

When I was growing up, my grandma operated an antique shop. That meant she had to hit the sales every summer weekend to keep her inventory fresh.

My mother and I often joined her.

By midday on a Saturday, we’d have a car full of new-old furniture, pretty dishes, vintage clothes and accessories. And a lot of knickknacks and other small trinkets.

As you can imagine, even as a kid my eyes were naturally drawn to anything doggy.

vintage brass tie clip with dog and pheasant

Vintage brass tie clip with dog and pheasant.

My grandmother taught me to judge items based on their overall condition, the material from which they were constructed (solid wood, ceramic and stone beat out plastic any day) and where they were made.

Sometimes I ignored all that advice and bought things I just thought were cute.

My grandma still sells antiques, from a booth at fairs and festivals around the Midwest. My mother is a curiosity dealer now, too, with her own permanent booth at an antique market in the Kansas City area.

My dad’s sweetheart is also in the business. She has a popular craft and antique shop called Rosie’s in my hometown of Beatrice, Nebraska.

Although I don’t have a lot of time to personally shop thrift stores, estate sales, auctions and garage sales, I love to pick through Rosie’s treasures and examine my mom’s latest finds.

Framed Portrait dog food poster

Have you ever heard of Portrait-brand dog food?

I’ve instructed all the antique mavens I know to be on the lookout for dogtiques – canine-related relics and conversation pieces – that I can share with you.

Maybe they’ll find something you’ll want to buy!

Do like antiques? Do you have any dogtiques?

If you’d like to learn more about any of the dogtiques shown on this page, let me know!

About crystalwayward

I live with two formerly wayward dogs. I care deeply about the environment, and I think gardening is a revolutionary act.

Posted on December 16, 2012, in Art, Dogs, Family, Random Life and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 7 Comments.

  1. tie clip looks awesome … I like thrift stores – every thing has a story – that’s so interesting :o)

  2. Don’t dare as to the clutter that is our life! lOve browsing though 😉

  3. I love the print! I also love antiqueing as I call it. I love going to shops and markets and stuff. I used to work in an Antique store and learned a lot!

  4. LOVE that first print… I inherited a very similar one, waiting to hang. Love strolling the garage and consignment shops. LOVE IT.

    • I will be examining that first print closer to see what I can learn about it. Do you know anything about how old yours is?

      • Mine is definitely Victorian… It’s of a little girl leaning in to a puppy, with the caption “Can you understand me?” or something to that effect. Perfect for me… The only reason I haven’t hung it, is b/c of the heaviness of those Victorian frames! WOW. I’m going to say… 1880s/90s? I’m actually visiting my mother and brother tomorrow, where it resides (and I’ve been meaning to have it shipped to me) — I’ll take a snapshot of it for ya! 🙂

      • Ooh! I can’t wait to see the snapshot! The print my mom has is definitely not Victorian, but it’s a darn nice reproduction. 🙂

Leave a Reply

