New Book for Dog Lovers: Sleeping with the Beast

Sleeping with the Beast

Sometimes I feel like living with three dogs is too many.

Author Dale Ryan and her husband have me beat. They live with five at Breeze Hill Farm, a beautiful country castle that they have remade over the years with the goal in mind of creating a peaceful life that accommodates their needs along with their animals.

Dale captured glimpses of her life in the new book Sleeping with the Beast.

The book is full of beautiful photos of the amazingly artful property, along with tips from Dale about cooking with dogs, decorating with dogs and living with dogs through all stages of life.

Here’s a quote that stuck out to me:

“People rely on dogs for their well-being. Canines protect us from people who may want to harm us, and are great watchers of our properties. Dogs are also great healers if you are ill; they are a great comfort to have by your side while you are recovering, they are such emotional boosters.”

Come back tomorrow to read an exclusive interview with author Dale Ryan.

Do you sleep with the beast? Share some of your tips for living successfully with dogs in the comments!

Disclaimer: I received a free copy of this book in exchange for writing about it.
About crystalwayward

I live with two formerly wayward dogs. I care deeply about the environment, and I think gardening is a revolutionary act.

Posted on November 28, 2012, in Dogs, Dogtography, Wayward Living and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 12 Comments.

  1. Hey snort – can you throw in a pig there? I’m fun too. 🙂 XOXO Bacon

  2. For me the key has been to put boundaries, we all do I know, but I still treat Doggy as a wild animal, he’s not a human baby, he’s closer to a wolf, he’s part of the family but an animal.
    And lots of belly rubbing, that’s fundamental.

    • You’re right. We do have to remember they are still animals. Sometimes I sit back and wonder if I’m crazy for having these fanged creatures in my home. Then, I go give ’em all a big hug and a kiss.

  3. Sounds like a good one! I’ll have to check this out )

  4. OMG – Hilarious – might have to send to my girlfriend who has a 118 pound great dane that tries to get in bed with her. Have a Great One:)

  5. We sleep with two dogs, and live with four total. What I need is a book on how to decorate and live with CATS. 😀 This looks like a great one, though!

  1. Pingback: Talking Dogs with Author Dale Ryan « Wayward Dogs

Leave a Reply

