A Writer’s Dog: Charli the Boxer Surprise

Look at this face:

boxer face

Classic Charli

I’ve not yet the pleasure of planting a kiss on this particular doggy face, but wouldn’t it be fun?

Charli is a female boxer dog who belongs to one of my writer friends. Jeneé writes about life, people and community in Kansas City. 

Here is what she has to say about Charli.

What is your dog’s story?

I didn’t ask for her. I don’t believe you should give dogs as gifts unless the recipient asked and is prepared for the responsibility, but luckily, this surprise turned out just fine.  I had just moved downtown into a place with a bay window and washer and dryer. Boxes hadn’t even been unpacked when a friend from Atlanta surprised me with a baby boxer. She had a nose like a pig and nestled it into my neck. Her feet were huge. She wasn’t the small King Charles spaniel I always thought I would get one day. I didn’t want to want her but the love was overwhelming. The bay window became hers. The washer and dryer worked overtime to keep all my linens clean during her potty training. It wasn’t the sexy downtown spot I thought it would be, but it was a home.

adult boxer with baby boxer

“And that’s a squirrel. We hate those.”

What is special about Charli?

She’s brilliant. Now that we have a second pup, I realize how much I have taken for granted. Charli truly understands me, my ups and downs and what I say. My husband pointed out that I have been through so much with her, when we were on her own that she just gets me. I can talk to her and she knows what to do. I say, “Let’s get on the couch and watch TV” and she’s up there with me. I don’t need commands anymore. Only I do because now we have a puppy, and you can’t thrown entire sentences at her. You have to get back to the basics: Sit. Stay. Down. Eat. Stop. Please.

two boxer dogs

Does the depth of your relationship with this dog surprise you?

When she was diagnosed with cancer and needed surgery on her ear, I felt broken. They said if I didn’t put her through another surgery, chemo and all kinds of treatment, I would lose her. She was miserable. I just knew she didn’t want that kind of treatment. And I was right. It’s two years later and she’s happy and even has a new sister, Peppermint Patty. Charli is seven years old and has lived a golden life.

What is a typical day like for Charli?
Wake up. Pets and kisses. Walk. Food. Walk. Treats. Play. Fight with sister. Treats. Cuddle. Nap. Repeat.
boxers in bandanas

Boxers in bandanas.

You’re a boxer person. What is it about this breed you like so much?

I love and hate their energy and charisma. It’s the best and worst thing ever. They have a very loving and human kind of personality. And they seem to never get tired. And the puppy stage lasts forever. No joke, boxers are puppies until the end.

What is frustrating about Charli?

Ha! She’s too smart. She can figure out games instantly. She is persistent in her wants. If she wants to lay on you, kiss you or get a treat – eventually you will give in. I have seen her turn people in my life who aren’t dog people into dog people. And now that she’s older and has gone through some things, she knows she can get away with stuff. Like sneaking up the stairs and sleeping outside of our bedroom door on stormy nights.

boxer with a destroyed toy

“Look, Ma!”

What have you learned from your dog?

She changed my life. Truly. She taught me to be a better person and to really get over myself. When a dog destroys your living room, rips cords out of the wall and eats everything from remote controls to your favorite shoes to an entire box of crayons – you learn what is important in life. When you have been living alone in a town with no family and you suddenly get to come home to a warm puppy that is always incredibly happy to see you, you learn that family can come with four legs and fur.

boxer pout face

Charli occasionally creeps into your writing. How else does your dog influence your life as a writer?

I would say she helps me focus. A dog that will slap your laptop and lick your screen will make you learn the art of focus quick. She’s also given me a heightened sense of compassion.

a boxer with a tennis ball

“Let’s play!”

What sage advice do you have for anyone interested in adding a boxer to their family?

Have energy. Have patience. Understand that these pups are jumpers by nature, they play a little rough but they are teddy bears and can be trained. Know the puppy stage is long and at times unforgiving but oh so worth it. They love and protect. They teach you to be better.

Connect with Jeneé at facebook.com/jeneeinkc or on Twitter @jeneeinkc.

Readers: Do you have a boxer story? Share it in the comments!

You, too, can have a dog named Charli(e Machete)! He’s not a boxer, but my sweet-faced foster dog is available for adoption.

Apply to make him yours through Midwest Adopt-a-Bull.

Don’t forget to enter the giveaway!
About crystalwayward

I live with two formerly wayward dogs. I care deeply about the environment, and I think gardening is a revolutionary act.

Posted on October 15, 2012, in Dogs, Dogtography and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 13 Comments.

  1. I don’t have a boxer story but that is one smoochable face!

  2. Nola is 1/2 boxer and everything Janee said above is true for her as well. Even thought she is not purebred, Nola has made me fall in love with boxers just as Charli did. There is just something about their little stubby tails and their entire body wag you get when they are happy that makes you melt. I adore Nola so much and hopefully someday we will add another boxer to the family.

  3. We’ve loved every boxer we have met.

  4. Great Post – the boxer cuteness is oozing! Happy Monday:)

  5. Through out my life I have had 4 Boxers.. and at one time had 3 in the same house. Its a job in its own but totally worth the smiles and laughs and the love they give. Boxers are truly one of the best dogs to own ever. 1. They don’t shed, YAY! 2. Yes Boxers are prone to cancers but don’t let this scare you away from owning one. 3. Mine sang for food. it was great entertainment.

    Spike was my first boxer he was all white with two black and brown eyes (Spots) He looked like a soccer ball. I have a photo of him sitting behind a fully inflated soccer ball, he couldn’t have been more than a few months old but he was big! Spike ate everything but we loved him anyway. I lost spike at the age of 5 in 1990, as a kid I didn’t understand that his heart had became enlarged and there was nothing they could do to stop it, so I was probably mad for a while.

    My Second pair of boxers were Bruno and Mia, they were siblings. One of my brothers friends boxer girl had puppies. I figured Id tag along with My brother to see them and one of them handed me the runt “Here hold this one.” Do you know what that just did to e? I went home and begged to have this little girl she was so small and cute and eventually grew to be a big square boxer! Bruno was the Mellow one it felt like he asked if it was ok to play with this ball or sleep on that rug. He was the follower and Mia was the Leader. We lost Mia in 2004 to Hemangiosarcoma a blood disorder that metastasizes into the organs. Mia was y Best friend, it was so hard to see her sick and there wasn’t much we could do to keep her around. Bruno stayed around for about 6 more years until Lymphoa hit and took him quicker than expected. about a month before Mia’s passing we adopted/rescued a boxer girl in which we named Gracie lou Greebush (Gracie lou for short) she was a dog that belonged to the daughter of one of my dads clients and could no longer take care, so oe fall day my mom and I drove and met this cutiepie. Gracielou was running in the street chasing a ball going through other yards chasing a ball running in circles everywhere. From then on I knew if we took a photo of this dog and took it home to my dad we could get this dog to live with us. I fell in love from day one with this dog, her name was Texas Holdem. That changed quickly. She came to live with us and took to the other two boxers and our Jack really well (yep our house was about to get crazy.)

    Gracie lou was a great dog. When I got my kitten Wicket she became friends with it. those two were like Peanut Butter and Jelly. in her older years she started having seizures which were treated. We lost Gracie in June of 2012. It was unexpected and I still can’t believe she is gone.

    Some day I will get another boxer. I plan on adopting again, but maybe I will just have to get two because they are like Potato chips, you can’t just have one.

  6. Boxers are really sweet, I has one when I was growing up, his name was Who, he was a goofball.

  7. Great guest post and I love boxer’s and I agree I think a big ol’ kiss from this lovely girl would be wonderful 🙂 The photo of them standing in the window is wonderful!!

Leave a Reply

