Shampoo You Can Share with the Dog (Review + Giveaway)

The truest thing about my hair right now is that it needs to be cut.

emo self portrait

Taking a self-portrait is awkward.

I don’t “do” my hair. Never have.

I require an easy, preferably bedhead-ready, cut that will look decent for the average 5 months I go between visits to my stylist. On top of that, I want my ‘do to be just a little bit rock ‘n’ roll.

That’s not much to ask, right?

The photo above was taken on a good hair day – two days ago, at the end of the day, following about three weeks of using only natural products on my hair.

Specifically, I have been using a Lavender Neem Shampoo bar and Apple Cider Vinegar with Lavender Hair Rinse from Baltimore Bumble Crafts. For styling, I have been using Pomade by Nutressant.

This post is about the shampoo bar and hair rinse.

Baltimore Bumble Crafts Lavender Neem Shampoo Bar

Shampoo bar. Image courtesy Baltimore Bumble Crafts.

apple cider vinegar hair rinse

After a couple weeks of spritz-and-rinse.

Vanessa Nakoski, the woman behind Baltimore Bumble Crafts, makes an ever-growing line of bath and beauty products. She specifically recommended the Lavender Neem Shampoo bar for me because it’s also safe for dogs.

After a couple weeks of using the shampoo bar on my own hair, I decided to try out it out on Scooby the elderpin.

Scooby bath time

For illustrative purposes only. This bathtime photo was taken years ago.

Scooby doesn’t get many baths, but he doesn’t mind them, as long as the water is warm and no one tries to stick a toothbrush in his mouth. He has incredibly short, thin fur.

Using a shampoo bar on him instead of liquid soap was actually quite convenient. It was easy to suds him up and evenly distribute the soap. Afterwards, he raced around the house at top speed.

While he was still wet and for a couple days after, his fur carried the lightest scent of lavender/neem. I liked that the smell wasn’t overwhelming and can only imagine that with a nose thousands of times more powerful than mine, Scooby did, too.

The best part of the Baltimore Bumble Craft shampoo bar when it came to Scooby is what it didn’t do – give him dandruff.

Typically, within a day or two of a scrubdown, Scooby’s skin will get a little flaky. This is why I don’t generally bathe him more than once a month. It’s been five days since his Baltimore Bumble Craft bath, and he hasn’t flaked, yet. Awesome!

dandruff-free dog

Flake-free miniature pinscher

On my head, the results of the shampoo bar were a little more mixed.

That’s probably because Scooby lives his life pretty much au natural. Dude with the collapsing trachea doesn’t even wear a collar most days, much less hair gel. (Can you imagine?)

I, on the other hand, have been washing my hair and putting petroleum-based stuff in it almost every day for basically my whole life.

There’s gonna be a transition period. And, to be honest, I’m not all the way through it yet.

However, I can say this about my trial use of the Baltimore Bumble Crafts’ lavender neem shampoo bar: The first couple of days were great. My hair felt light and clean. After that, I entered what I’m told is the gunky period. As your hair and scalp work to find the new, right balance of natural oils, the tresses might not look or feel so awesome.

Using the Baltimore Bumble Crafts apple cider vinegar and lavender hair rinse two or three times a week helped. On those days, my hair didn’t feel so weighed down or clumpy in the back.

And, no, I did not walk around all day smelling like vinegar. The scent dissipates as your hair dries.

I cheated a few times by mixing a squirt of Dr. Bronner’s liquid soap with my shampoo bar suds. That helped, too.

So did figuring out how to use the bar correctly.

Oddly enough, it took scrubbing the Scoob for me to realize I wasn’t lathering my own head correctly. Even as a crazy dog lady, I hesitated before using the shampoo bar on myself after washing the dog with it, but I had to.

As I scrubbed him, it occurred to me that on my own head I had been focusing more on my long hair strands when I should have been creating some lather on my scalp and working it down to the ends. Duh!

It’s safe to say that I’m still getting the hang of this natural shampoo thing, and I will continue to experiment with different products and routines until I figure out what works best for me.

In the meantime, I’m so happy Scooby and I got to try out Baltimore Bumble Crafts.

One lucky reader (in the U.S.) will get to try a shampoo bar for free, too!

To enter, simply visit Baltimore Bumble Crafts and report back here with a comment about other products you’d like to try.

To receive additional chances to win your own Lavender Neem Shampoo Bar, follow the link below.

Click here: a Rafflecopter giveaway

Disclosure: I received free products for myself and one for a giveaway in exchange for an honest review.
About crystalwayward

I live with two formerly wayward dogs. I care deeply about the environment, and I think gardening is a revolutionary act.

Posted on October 12, 2012, in Dogs, Dogtography, Environmentalism, Random Life, Reviews, Scooby, Wayward Living and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 34 Comments.

  1. I always wondered how to use a shampoo bar… maybe I’ll get the chance to some day!

  2. I love your hair – just saying:) Happy Friday!

  3. I too like the I haircuts where you can wash and go. My sisters pick on me because I get my hair cut short. I never even knew they had shampoo bars before I read this! I looked at the site and I’m thinking about treating myself to Orange Peel Coco Butter!

  4. Don’t feel bad about the learning curve. I make the stuff and I still had a serious transition period as I figured out how to use it. Focusing on the scalp is key; it uses less of the bar each time and gives you a bit more of that lather. When I first switched to lathering my scalp instead of my strands, I ended up having enough lather to give myself a little mohawk. :o) I’ll admit to still sometimes letting my industrially-honed instincts get the better of me and freaking out that I don’t have enough lather/bubbles/slip/etc. but once I get out of the shower and start doing my hair, I remember why I went natural – it looks and feels better in the end!

  5. Hey Scooby, Jet here. Hi Miss Vanessa.

    Nice to make your acquaintance. Mom uses neem toothpaste already!! Mom’s chemically sensitive, so, thank you for sharing this resource. We usually use Cloud Star’s Buddy Wash, and we were given Barkology to try (review upcoming)… we have super fluffy fur, so, Mom’s not sure whether the bar will be to difficult to use… She’s willing to try for sure. 🙂

  6. I definitely want to try a shampoo bar!!! I used baking soda & vinegar for about 6 months and never got over the transition period – bummer! My job requires me to have nice looking hair (I sell hair accessories), so I switched back to shampoo – the best “natural” shampoo I tried was Wen – but at nearly $30 a bottle, I need another option!! I also love oatmeal soap – smells so wonderful!

  7. Glad you’re getting the hang of it all!

  8. Great post! I think your hair looks great and so does Scooby!!
    There are a lot of wonderful things I would love to try but I have to say I love the idea behind the lotion, I hate when I have to waste my lotion because I can’t get it out of the bottle. The Lavender: Shea Butter Lotion Bar sounds very nice and the design is so pretty 🙂

  9. Due to unfortunate circumstances, I have to live a dog-less existence for a while. But this shampoo bar looks incredibly interesting. I love the idea of wash-n-go locks. It’s cheaper and better for your body! (: PS: Scooby–lookin’ good!

  10. I seriously wish my hair looked that good NOT done. 🙂 Love me some handmade soaps.

  11. I love lavender and would love to try the bar soap!

  12. They have so many great products- but I have an eye out for Christmas gifts right now and I think my sister would love their Sea Salt Scrub: Lime & Ginger!

  13. I love to soak at night and use lavender products (soap/ lotion, etc)because it helps me relax so I can sleep because I have trouble sleeping

  14. The shampoo bar looks intriguing. I’m not sure it would work on my hair, but I don’t put much product in my hair (if any!) so it may…does it detangle too? That’s my biggest problem! I love the sound of the Bumble Lemongrass Ginger lotion – it sounds fantastic! Also, the Orange Spice Bumble Balm sounds like it would leave my lips super awesome and smelling good! 🙂

    • Vanessa would have different, more expert advice, but from my experience I wouldn’t say the shampoo bar has detangling qualities. In fact I tend to find that lathering up at the top of my scalp leads me to more tangles. But that might just be my poor technique!

  15. I like the look of the charcoal soap

  16. Anything that simplifies my routine is a good thing. I had a shampoo bar year ago that I used but I can’t remember the brand. It would be great to try another one, maybe it has been perfected. Scooby sure looked great.

  17. I would like to try the peppermint patti cocoa lotion bar. It sounds yummy!

  18. I was suggested this blog via my cousin. I am not sure whether or not this publish is
    written through him as nobody else know such specified about my trouble.

    You’re amazing! Thank you!

  1. Pingback: Whirlwind Nebraska weekend « Wayward Dogs

  2. Pingback: A Writer’s Dog: Charli the Boxer Surprise « Wayward Dogs

  3. Pingback: More of Scooby’s House Rules « Wayward Dogs

  4. Pingback: On the grooming needs of a golden retriever « Wayward Dogs

  5. Pingback: Giveaway Promote | Organic Lavender Neem Shampoo Giveaway | Find and list giveaways and giveaway events.

  6. Pingback: Treat Time: Biscuits, bones and chews reviewed « Wayward Dogs

  7. Pingback: Laughs for Breakfast « Wayward Dogs

  8. Pingback: Best Shampoo Products Reviews

Leave a Reply

