In the crowd at Strutt with your Mutt

After running in the Strutt with Your Mutt 5K on Saturday, I walked my foster mutt Charlie Machete home.

He needed to rest up for the escape attempt he was planning for later that day. And I wanted to check out the festival portion of the event, unencumbered by my nervous-in-a-crowd running buddy.

My first point of action was to redeem my tickets for a plate of free pancakes from the local purveyor Chris Cakes. Then, I set too snapping camera pics of the many adorable doggies in attendance.

Loving dog friends

I’ll just take a peek through here…

Another between-the-legs moment: One of Kennel Creek Pet Resort owner Chris Sailors’  labradoodles decided to take a nap in the shade.

labradoodle in a Chiefs jersey

Fandom makes me tired.

Lots of dogs were dressed up and dyed for a costume competition. This poodle named Koda came from Richmond, Missouri, where his mom runs Haute Dog Grooming.

Poodle with zebra stripes

Dog or zebra?

I was happy to run into my neighbor Emily and her rescue puppy Cooper. Emily has a soft spot for Charlie Machete because for many years she had a big, handsome black rescue dog who adored her but wasn’t so great in crowds and took a while to warm up to new people.

Now, she has Cooper, whose personality exists on the polar opposite end of the spectrum. She said they had fun walking in the 3K Strutt.

Emily and Cooper

Cooper is curious about everything.

These well-behaved little dachshunds amused everyone as they rode through the crowd in the trailer hatched to their man’s bicycle.

dachshunds on a bike trailer

Giddee-yup!

Harley was my favorite dog of the day. Can you guess why?

Harley the min pin

Imagine if Scooby were very young with natural ears.

I couldn’t take my eyes off Harley once I spotted him. He was there with several members of his human family, plus a doberman in a rhinestone collar and a beagle who was wearing denim pants.

As the event wound down, Harley’s leash slipped out of his mama’s hands, and suddenly, there he was skittering past my feet and into the crowd. I was thrilled to be the one to scoop him up and return him!

His mama, who hadn’t yet realized he’d escaped, was overjoyed. And she was excited to see that I was wearing the same Midwest Adopt-a-Bull t-shirt she purchased at a different doggy event recently. Yay for pit bull-loving miniature pinscher people!

Thanks to Wayside Waifs for putting on this great event. And, again, thanks to everyone who sponsored Charlie Machete and me in the run.

We’re on the lookout for another dog-friendly race. In fact, Charlie Machete keeps telling me he wants to try a 10K next time!

About crystalwayward

I live with two formerly wayward dogs. I care deeply about the environment, and I think gardening is a revolutionary act.

Posted on September 24, 2012, in Dogs, Dogtography, Neighbors and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Very nice post, I love all the photos and that poodle is too cool!!

    Don’t you just love that feeling of being the one to help catch a pooch and get them back to their owner, had that happen recently myself 🙂

Leave a Reply

