Easy meat and veggie Treatballs for dogs

Veggie Juice

Green is good.

If you have ever squeezed your own vegetable juice, you know that behind every gorgeous glass of nutrient-rich liquid, there is a pile of pulp and veggie shreds.

We’ve faced a lot of those pulp piles since the household food fascination gave way from meat preserving to juicing. The waste created by a juicer has always bugged me. Although I understand that most of the nutrients have been stripped of the pulp that remains after a good, hard pressing by Jack Lalanne, I couldn’t help feeling guilty every time I dumped out a bucket of veggie scraps.

Luckily, I know some dogs who like vegetables.

pulp of carrots, peppers, chard, spinach, celery and ginger

Carrots, peppers, chard, spinach, celery and ginger stuff.

However, even our willing-to-veg-out canines aren’t that enthused if you just plop a pile of raw pulp in front of them. So, I devised a way to make veggie scraps more exciting.

It’s easy.

Just add canned dog food.

holistic select canned dog food

Lamb – the perfect complement to veggie scraps.

In all honesty, I didn’t know what I was going to do with this concoction when I started out. After mixing the vegetables and canned food evenly, I thought I might bake it all into a meatloaf.

Canned food mixed with veggie scraps

Meat veggie pate, anyone?

Once cooked, the vegetables could be easier for the dogs to digest. But, frankly, it was 9 p.m. and I didn’t feel like baking. Plus, I figured the meat-based canned food didn’t really need to be cooked a second time.

And so, with a little help from Zach, I rolled that gooey meat and veggie batter into a couple dozen homemade treatballs.

Then, just like my famous no-bake sweet potato dog treats, I tossed those treatballs in the freezer. The dogs now each get a couple every day.

Treatballs

Om nom nom.

Wanna make your dog some Treatballs?

Ingredients:

Vegetable scraps – as many as you got. (Just be sure all of the veggies you have are OK for dogs to eat.)

1 can of your pup’s favorite wet food

Directions:

1. Stir up the vegetables or, if you prefer a smoother Treatball, put them in a food processor.

2. Mix the veggies and canned food by hand in a large bowl.

3. When satisfied that the mixture is even, roll it into bite sized Treatballs.

4. Store Treatballs in a covered container in the freezer.

Three handsome beggars

More Treatballs please!

Do you think your dogs would like Treatballs? Let me know what you think of this super easy recipe in the comments!

About crystalwayward

I live with two formerly wayward dogs. I care deeply about the environment, and I think gardening is a revolutionary act.

Posted on September 18, 2012, in Dogs, Dogtography, Food and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 11 Comments.

  1. They look great and we’re sure our dogs would wolf them down!

  2. What a great idea and they do look good!!

  3. Do you mind if I quote a few of your articles as long as
    I provide credit and sources back to your webpage? My blog
    is in the exact same niche as yours and my users would genuinely
    benefit from a lot of the information you present here.
    Please let me know if this okay with you. Cheers!

  4. Great idea! I adore the photo of the handsome beggars! 🙂

  1. Pingback: A Traditional Thanksgiving Turkey « Wayward Dogs

  2. Pingback: Puppy Brittle and Pumpkin Beer Biscuits | Wayward Dogs

Leave a Reply

