Permanent Reminder

Rise Above Yourself tattoo

Those words ain’t Photoshopped.

I’ve had this ink for a few years.

I don’t always live up to the idea, but I try.

The phrase comes from a song written and performed by some of my best friends who used to have a band called Flee the Seen.

The song is called “Do You Think Dallas is Still in the Slammer?”

It’s loud, screechy and about rising out of personal struggle.

Do you have any tattoos? What’s your personal motto?

Flee the Seen’s album Doubt Becomes the New Addiction is available in the Favorite Things section of the Wayward Dogs Store.
About crystalwayward

I live with two formerly wayward dogs. I care deeply about the environment, and I think gardening is a revolutionary act.

Posted on September 13, 2012, in Random Life and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 10 Comments.

  1. I have 3. Two I shouldn’t have gotten – one I really like. It’s a hedgehog that a friend in college designed for me. I had an albino hedgehog at the time and he had gotten really sick and I thought I was going to lose him. He ended up being okay, but when I moved I couldn’t take him with me, so he went to live at the Henry Doorly Zoo. Not sure if he’s still alive or not, as I have no idea what the life expectancy is of a hedgehog, but I’m glad I got the tattoo. I’m also thinking about getting one that represents Brutus – but am not sure what it would be.

    • I remember you having a hedgehog in high school… 🙂 Believe it or not, of my four tattoos, only one is an animal – the humpback whale behind my ear. You should get something to represent Brutus!

  2. I have 3, and hope to get a fourth in the next few weeks. The new one will be on my left calf and simply say LOVE in script, with the O being a paw print. That best describes my infusion of volunteering and fostering in the last year and a half. One memorial tattoo, means the most to me. The second one I got was a little black cat on my shoulder blade, not the smartest choice, but was to show my friend it was no big deal before she got hers (and I did have a black cat at the time). Good or bad, all memorable!

  3. No tattoo’s here but if I were to ever get one I had thought about a very small dragonfly or a paw print just above my ankle.

  4. I love that my right foot is nearly completely covered. I get way more compliments about it then dirty looks (despite what my husband thinks….he is anti-tat). Everytime I look down I fall more in love. I regret getting my belly button pierced, but NEVER my tat!

    • How funny – Zach is also anti-tat. And I feel the same way about all of mine that you do, except for one that isn’t holding up too well over the years. In fact, I’d like to have some work done to it – maybe turn it into a sea turtle. I can’t believe you regret the navel piercing. Pretty sure I was there with you when that happened!! I still love mine, although Zach thinks it’s silly.

  5. Love your tat, Crystal! I have my family crest on the inside of my left wrist. I also have ‘sisters’ in Japanese writing on the inside of my right wrist. Very proud and happy to have both!

Leave a Reply

