Mirror, mirror on the the wall

It’s amazing how much a small accomplishment can improve your whole view.
image

This mirror used to hang in my parents’ bedroom. It hung for a while in our bedroom, too. But last year, while we visited Portland and a friend stayed at our house with the dogs,

the mirror

fell

d

o

w

n.

Miraculously, the glass did not break. The hanger, however, left a nasty scar on the wall above my dresser.

The mirror itself took up an almost forgotten residence on the floor behind the headboard. All I could really see was the beautiful ornate frame that makes me love this mirror so.

Antique gold mirror frame

It was Zach’s idea last weekend to move the mirror to our tiny bathroom.

The effect is amazing. Of course, there’s the whole room-enlargening effect. But that old mirror also brings something personal to a room that we’ve otherwise furnished sparsely with store-bought, assemble-it-yourself cabinets. That mirror makes me stupid happy.

I can’t believe it took so long.

Did you accomplish any projects over the holiday weekend?

Have you ever completed one very small task and been overjoyed with the result?

About crystalwayward

I live with two formerly wayward dogs. I care deeply about the environment, and I think gardening is a revolutionary act.

Posted on September 4, 2012, in Awesome, Random Life and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. Love it! My parents have a scroll-y mirror like that which we spray painted Oil Rubbed Bronze to update it just a bit. I love those mirrors!

    We renovated my parents’ bathroom this weekend – and it is crazy how much a mirror can change the look/feel of a bathroom! 🙂

    • I bet your mom’s bathroom looks awesome! I’m not decorate-y enough to spraypaint things. That’s Zach’s department. Luckily, this (g)old thing looks pretty good above the brown and goldish towels not visible in the pic.

  2. What an absolutely gorgeous mirror! I love mirrors in rooms they add such light and depth.

    I did accomplish a very daunting task this last weekend, deep cleaned my kitchen, but now it’s done and I can enjoy it.

Leave a Reply

