Dogs getting high

Perches.

That’s what the black dogs in our house prefer.

Scooby spends whole days parked on the back of our couch — a pretty high place for a dude who’s, like, six inches tall. But from that vantage point, the elderpin has a view of our entire main floor. He’s just a few feet from the front door, with an unobstructed view of the kitchen and back door and a good sightline into the bedroom.

Foster pup Charlie Machete never loved being kenneled, and so shortly after he began staying with us last summer, the laundry room became his room.

True to his inner panther, he opted against snoozing on the floor and instead took to leaping four feet onto a counter that offered access to one corner of a window with a glimpse into our side yard. If a basket of clean or dirty clothes happened to be on the counter, he’d just squish himself into it, shovelhead hanging over the front.

He still does this, but due to his insistence on hopping off of the counter the moment I open the laundry room door, I have no photographic proof.

However, I have caught him in another high place.

The design of our new deck includes a bench that attaches to our fence. One step up, and a panther dog has a full street view.

Of course, we never leave him out there unattended, but he sure likes to play sentry anytime he gets the chance.

What do you think Charlie Machete is saying in this picture? Leave your answer in the comments.

About crystalwayward

I live with two formerly wayward dogs. I care deeply about the environment, and I think gardening is a revolutionary act.

Posted on August 3, 2012, in Dogs, Machete, Scooby and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 20 Comments.

  1. Dogs love to perch, Boomer likes to perch on the armrest of one of our couches to look outside and Dottie likes to perch on the back of a couch so she’s at eye level with you for some attention.

  2. “you gonna eat all that corndog?”

  3. Hey buddy where you going, can I come too?

  4. I think he is wondering why they are not stopping to pet him and play a game of fetch. I am a big dog lover and have two dogs of my own, Zeus and Lucky. They are so funny, loving, and snuggly! I love them with all of my heart and soul! I have started a blog for my Rottweiler Zeus called Saving Zeus. He has a rare genetic disorder and we are trying to raise funds for the medical tests and treatment that he desperately needs. Also on my blog, I have funny stories and really cute photos of both of my boys. If you would like to make a donation or share our blog to help us save Zeus, or would just like a laugh after reading a funny story, visit my page. Since I am just getting started on my blog, there will be many more stories to come so check back every once in a while! Visit us at http://www.savingzeus.wordpress.com

  5. I believe what Charlie is saying is “GET OFF MY LAWWWWWWWWN!” Clint Eastwood-style.

  6. little dogs are like cats that way – they find the highest perches!
    Charlie’s saying, “… adjust the trajectory, carry the one, tweak the angle, … if I time it right, that squirrel is MINE!”

  7. “hey kid hows bout sharing that ice cream cone!”

  8. “Bring me back a cheeseburger, large fries and a strawberry milkshake” 🙂

  1. Pingback: What he said « Wayward Dogs

  2. Pingback: Homemade barking dog stopper « Wayward Dogs

  3. Pingback: Foster Failure | Wayward Dogs

Leave a Reply

