Fruits of a poorly managed garden

image

This summer’s garden will win no awards for beauty or production. Between drought and a little personal burnout, we keepers of the Wayward garden have allowed the crops to get a little, well, wayward.

As morning dew cooled our feet, Luke and I took an exploratory stroll through the jungle box and permaculture bed. Neglected though it may be, our determined garden did not disappoint.

In pulling back the oversized leaves of the aggressive mystery squash, we found fruit, surprises and an overall abundance of life.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

How is your garden growing?

About crystalwayward

I live with two formerly wayward dogs. I care deeply about the environment, and I think gardening is a revolutionary act.

Posted on July 14, 2012, in Gardening, Luke and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 10 Comments.

  1. That was a lovely surprise!

  2. I am sad to say this year due to physical limitations I could not do my garden this year. I look forward every year to working in my garden and now feel out of sink because of not working in my garden. The best little surprise is in my compost pile I have some Mystery vegetables growing and doing beautiful,. I don’t know what they are yet but the possibilities are Pumpkin, squashes , or watermelon. So I won’t have my usual harvest but I will have something that will be homegrown and delicious! I wait in anticipation for next year hoping I will be healed and have my strength back!

  3. I’m afraid I have the opposite of green fingers – not sure what that would be (purple maybe). I think I could kill a fake plant.

    • Oh, my fingers aren’t that green. The things I’ve killed this year include: three rose bushes, one pear tree, countless baby eggplants, peppers, tomatoes, squash, cucumbers and melons… The list goes on.

  1. Pingback: Do you know this squash? « Wayward Dogs

  2. Pingback: Letting nature take its course on the garden « Wayward Dogs

  3. Pingback: The garden isn’t dead yet « Wayward Dogs

Leave a Reply

