DIY dye project for dog collars and leashes

It’s not that the pastel pink head collar looked bad on the big headed black dog.

The hue associated with femininity and daintyness just didn’t seem right on a dog named Charlie Machete.

Believe it not, both dogs are wearing the exact same Gentle Leader® head collar in the following photos.

Photo by Fido Fetch Photography.

 

How did we Zach do it?

It was simple. He used Rit Dye.

Until recently, whenever I passed the little bottles of Rit Dye at the grocery store, I assumed they had something to do with headlice. I guess I was thinking of a totally different product called Rid.

As it turns out, Rit Dye is pretty awesome.

You can use the liquid or powder formulas to change the color of garments and other fabrics in the washing machine, in the sink or over the stove top. Depending on the fabric, you just add vinegar or salt to the mix. Just follow the directions on the bottle.

Within hours (or less), your old foster girl‘s head collar can go from pretty pink to a manly dark green.

image

As you can see in the picture, the threads in the Gentle Leader did remain pink. I call that a happy accident of chromatic accenting, which keep Charlie Machete looking extra stylish.

I have yet to tackle a DIY dyeing project myself, but Zach has had great luck lately changing the color of small fabric pouches and bags.

For the frugal and fashion-savvy, Rit has a great website with guides for transforming dowdy duds into trendy pieces. A small bottle of Rit costs less than $5 at the store. I have a feeling this new trick could bring new possibilities to the items I pick up at my next clothing swap.

Big thanks to Fido Fetch Photography for the gorgeous photos of Minnie and Charlie Machete!

Have you ever used dye to transform a piece of clothing or pet items? Share your tips in the comments.

About crystalwayward

I live with two formerly wayward dogs. I care deeply about the environment, and I think gardening is a revolutionary act.

Posted on June 28, 2012, in Dogs, Dogtography, Wayward Living and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 9 Comments.

  1. thanks for the tip! tysons collar is looking shabby. time for a make-over!

  2. Great idea. Was lamenting the demise of Litchi’s once bright red collar. Now I don’t need to buy another. Although we don’t get the same products here, I’m sure the must be something similar I can use.

  3. Very cool! I’ll have to keep that in mind for Boomer and Dottie’s collars.

  1. Pingback: Jogging with dogs « Wayward Dogs

  2. Pingback: Someone thinks this blog is hot stuff « Wayward Dogs

  3. Pingback: What He’s Wearing: Thunder Jacket Edition « Wayward Dogs

  4. Pingback: Best DIY and Food Posts from Last Year « Wayward Dogs

Leave a Reply

