Where are all the wayward dogs?

Dogs like this are why I started this blog:

image

Zach’s mom happened upon this sweet yellow lab not long ago in her neighborhood. He had no tags or microchip.

She kept him for the night, and luckily his owner recognized him in her front yard the next day.

My parents also kindly gave shelter for a few hours to a smaller neighborhood dog that went wayward around St. Patrick’s Day.

It’s awesome that our families made the effort to help these lost dogs, especially considering our mothers were each very privy to the many months of challenges Zach and I endured after taking in the stray Charlie Machete.

I’ll always try to help a dog in need if I can. But I’m honestly glad I haven’t recently run into any wayward dogs I didn’t recognize.

They’re out there.

Their pictures pop up in my e-mail, on Facebook and even on my Waldo street corner.

image

I saw a woman posting that lost dog flyer yesterday.

A few pink signs also recently appeared, reminding us that waywardness isn’t reserved just for pet dogs.

image

My heart goes out to anyone whose pets have gone missing.

I hope kind souls recognize the animals as someone’s beloved and help them home.

Spreading the word helps – in addition to all of the usual spots, feel free to post pictures of lost or found pets on the Wayward Dogs Facebook page or Tweet me @crystalwayward. (This goes for readers everywhere, not just Kansas City.)

Together, we can save lives.

For a big list of helpful tips on what to do if you find or lose a pet, check out the Adoptions & Services section of hspca.org.

About crystalwayward

I live with two formerly wayward dogs. I care deeply about the environment, and I think gardening is a revolutionary act.

Posted on June 4, 2012, in Dogs, Neighbors, Wayward Dog and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. It is lovely that you care so much. It always breaks my heart when I hear that a loved one has gone missing 😦

  1. Pingback: How We Helped Dogs in 2012 « Wayward Dogs

Leave a Reply

