What’s growing in the mini orchard

The mini fruit and nut orchard in our yard expanded by two recently.

Zach finally granted my wish and procured a pawpaw tree from our friends at Bear Creek Farm.

image

The pawpaw, AKA “America’s forgotten fruit,” produces a mango-like fruit.

I’m sure it will be a while before we get our first “poor man’s banana” off this little tree, but it sure looks happy.

Sadly, the same cannot be said for our new pear sapling, which seems to have gone into transplant shock.

image

Our friends from Bear Creek will be in the area today, and I hope they have some advice.

The tree looked awesome right up until it went in our ground…

Meanwhile, the tiniest baby apples on a tree we planted last spring are getting fat!

image

And our potted Meyer lemon tree has little lemon nubs!

image

Are there any fruit trees around you? How’s your garden growing?

About crystalwayward

I live with two formerly wayward dogs. I care deeply about the environment, and I think gardening is a revolutionary act.

Posted on May 30, 2012, in Gardening and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. Both our grapefruit and lime trees had many blooms on them earlier this year, but we only have 3 limes that came out of it. However, our Bonnie grape tomatoes are doing awesome (we had some last year that did great, so we planted a few more this year). My strawberries have taken over half of one of the gardens, but the bugs and birds get to them before I can! No zucchini yet, though the blooms are gorgeous in the mornings. My asparagus look like little pine trees. Apparently, you have to wait a couple years to harvest them but I really don’t know that much about them to know that I’m doing the right thing…

    • Your garden sounds amazing! I only got a few strawberries, and I expect the birds will devour all of our blueberries, raspberries and blackberries. I’m in the same boat with you, too, with the asparagus. I planted a bunch from seed this year, so it will be a long wait.

  1. Pingback: This blog has been recognized « Wayward Dogs

  2. Pingback: Giving thanks « Wayward Dogs

Leave a Reply

