River dog

It’s not always easy to emulate this guy:

image

Between work, home ownership, gardening, dogs and trying to be an all-around awesome individual to all of the people I care about, there are days when I don’t feel very much like River Dog at all.

In fact, some days I don’t even want to be in the river.

I wonder how River Dog does it — keeps his chin up even when the current is rough and the water is cold.

Obviously, feeling overwhelmed by life is not unique to me. In fact, I bet a lot of you reading this right now feel at times incredibly weighed down by the responsibilities of your life.

River Dog takes nothing but himself into the water.

Is there anything you can let go of?

Or can you at least decide to politely decline the next time someone comes wagging another possible commitment in your face?

I know that’s a tough order for us people pleasers, but our sanity may depend on it.

Have you ever felt overwhelmed? How did you overcome that feeling?

About crystalwayward

I live with two formerly wayward dogs. I care deeply about the environment, and I think gardening is a revolutionary act.

Posted on May 14, 2012, in Dogs, Luke and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. 13 Comments.

  1. …only ALL the time! What I’ve learned is to prioritize – life before stuff. If the dishes sit in the sink overnight so I have time to walk or train the pups, so be it. If the laundry doesn’t get folded so I can eat dinner with the hubby, it’s cool! And if I need some me time for a yoga class, work will still be there the next day. You need to take care of YOU so you you can take care of the things you love. Hugs & puppy smooches!

  2. Nice post!! I am going to SAVE this! I love your blog.

  3. All the time as well! Prioritizing and learning to say no are essential, as well as taking time to rest when necessary. Loved the post.

  4. Our Mummy says that sometimes she is drowning in commitments but cannot say no. That’s partly why we love her though! In means we can demand veggies anytime and she fetches them!

    Whee do understand about prioritising. Its all about putting youself first sometimes and only taken the most important commitments. Like if you have choice between a cuddle or a run in the garden you chose the garden because it is not always nice enough weather to go outsise.

    Nibbles, Nutty, Bingo & Buddy
    xxxx

  5. The only time I feel overwhelmed is when I fight Jess and Alf at the same time; how do I get over it? I turn it up another notch and they give up. Bones Rules!!!!!

  6. You must make time for ‘you’ x

  1. Pingback: A devil and a golden retriever « Wayward Dogs

  2. Pingback: Fruits of a poorly managed garden « Wayward Dogs

  3. Pingback: Letting nature take its course on the garden « Wayward Dogs

  4. Pingback: Making choices toward a happier and less hectic existence « Wayward Dogs

  5. Pingback: This One is for the Readers Who Put Up with Me « Wayward Dogs

Leave a Reply

