Dogs eating carrots

Last fall we planted five packets of organic carrot seeds in a smallish raised bed at the corner of our front yard, under two street lamps.

All winter, we watched the carrot tops grow tall and fade from green to yellow and back again. When we felt like making soup Zach decided to make soup, one of us would bundle up, head outside and pull a few fat, sweet, twisted, orange roots from the dirt.

Yesterday, our friend Steve dropped by and said it was time for the carrots to come up before they all went to seed.

So we dug them up by the handful.

When I had a bucketful, I wasn’t sure what to do.
image

I handed a carrot to Minnie.

image

She didn’t know what to do with a carrot.

Next, I turned to Scooby, who addressed his carrot tenderly.

image

Then, a red-headed carrot shark emerged and snapped up about 10 carrots. Mmm.

image

We actually feed these dogs carrots quite often, but they are definitely a favorite snack of Luke’s.

Do your dogs go crazy for any vegetables?

About crystalwayward

I live with two formerly wayward dogs. I care deeply about the environment, and I think gardening is a revolutionary act.

Posted on April 19, 2012, in Dogs, Dogtography, Gardening and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 21 Comments.

  1. Daphne, my crazy beagle, goes nuts for carrots. She begs for them when she hears me get the bag out of the fridge. What a nut! She also enjoys apples.

    • Daphne sounds sweet. Our Luke is crazy for apples, too! Speaking of carrots and apples, we ended up putting about half of that carrot motherload through the juicer last night with a couple apples for carrot-apple juice. Yum!

  2. Yeah, the Sheltie I used to have devoured carrots! I’d have to be careful when I was picking them in the garden, because she’d snatch some when I wasn’t looking!

  3. Great pictures. Sofie likes carrots but Louise pretends and hides them under the couch.

    • Sometimes Scooby just breaks them up and spits them out. I think he got sick of them because a few years ago I used to give him a half dry food/half rice + chicken + spinach + carrots diet.

  4. My dogs love carrots so much that I often use them in lieu of treats when we’re training. I can’t tell a difference in motivation between carrots and the kibble I use. Sadie will also eat anything crunchy that I give her – celery, green beans, asparagus. OK. She sorta pretends on the asparagus and will choke it down only if I’m watching her. But she really does enjoy the other vegetables I give her.

  5. This is another reason to have Chickens! There is now never a wasted vegetable in our house!

    Course the dogs are eating a shredded veggie medely on the daily too. So there’s actually some competition for the veg. Come on garden!

    Kuddos to you for over wintering those carrots! My one carrot attempt involve soil not properly tilled. Resulting in short, fat, stunted carrots. hrmph.

    • I want chickens so bad…
      We planted our carrots in mostly new, really good soil that we purchased (FYI for KC gardeners, it was from Missouri Organics) to fill the bed last year, so it was pretty loose. However, we planted all of the carrots way too close together, so they have been hard to harvest, and a lot of them grew spiraled around each other. It’s actually kind of neat.

  6. My male dog loves any fruit or veggie I have – tomatoes, broccoli, apples, blueberries, celery, spinach, etc. The older female likes tomatoes, apples and blueberries. The youngest female doesn’t understand why the other dogs are eating such things. She has a look of ‘thats not food’ and goes into her crate. Sometimes she will eat a blueberry but leaves everything else.

    • Our dogs like apples. However, apple seeds are supposed to be bad for dogs, so I picke those out. I believe tomatoes are technically on the no-no list, too, although our dogs have gotten into those before.

  7. Our pooches love carrots too! When they hear the bag open they emerge from all areas just to get some. Although, ours aren’t quite homegrown, just from the local Dominick’s.

  8. Midnight loves all veggies she will eat them all raw. She loves her fruit also apples are her favorite but she like oranges ,strawberries, peaches. BabyGirl is more picky she will only eat raw lettuce and tomatoes but will eat a lot of veggies steamed. She is crazy about oranges and orange juice. I don’t give her a lot but she bugs me all the time for my orange juice lol Lifts paw gently and Dainty with those eyes saying your orange juice please!

  1. Pingback: Green fruit « Wayward Dogs

  2. Pingback: Eating radish seed pods « Wayward Dogs

  3. Pingback: A Traditional Thanksgiving Turkey « Wayward Dogs

  4. Pingback: Sowing the First Spring Seeds | Wayward Dogs

Leave a Reply

