5 greener living tips from a crunchy mama

Cloth diapers rule!

Urban dictionary says the term crunchy applies to “persons who have adjusted or altered their lifestyle for environmental reasons.”

That sounds a lot like my personal definition for wayward living. Whatever you call this green-mindedness, I’m proud to know a lot of people who have it. One of them is my friend and fellow dog lover Jessica.

She used to ride her pony along country roads to pick up the trash, and she lectured a class about recycling back in college, but Jessica’s crunch factor increased dramatically with the birth of her son Gilmer last year. In the Q&A that follows, she talks about some easy ways for anyone to experience a little more crunch in their everyday lives.

CW: What does it mean to be crunchy?

J: Being crunchy can be as extreme or not as you want. Essentially to me it means being “more” green, “more” organic, “more” natural.

How did your journey into crunchiness begin?

I would say I became “more” crunchy after the birth of my son last year. It’s not just my health and environment anymore. The main thing that makes me a crunchy mama is my homebirthed, cloth diapered, breastfed, intact son and love of my life Gilmer!

Why not do things the conventional way?

Hmm, I’ve never been known to do things the easy way or the way everyone else does it. But at the same time I’m not saying the crunchy lifestyle was a “trendy” choice. When we know better we do better, and I’m just trying to do the best I can. I’m constantly learning, too. I like the Granola Crunchy Parenting page on Facebook. I’m going to try out natural flea prevention soon, too!

What crunchy choice have you found the most challenging?

Eating healthier has been the hardest crunchy decision. It’s one of the only crunchy decisions that can cost more. Not to mention I have a love of all fast, easy, sugary foods.And anyone who has bought the “good” dog foods knows those are pricey. 

Jessica and her family on a walk with KC Pittie Pack. Photo courtesy Fido Fetch Photography.

5 ways to be more crunchy:

  1. Eat healthier to be healthier — I recently began drinking “green” smoothies. Keeping the pets in mind, choose a good food or make your pets’ food. A lot of dog foods on the market contain corn. Dogs can’t digest corn. (And it’s hard for people, too.) You can even make green smoothies for your pets!
  2. I like to choose holistic approaches to medicine, i.e. probiotics, cranberries, antioxidants, omega 3’s, essential oils, grape seed extract, apple cider vinegar, coconut oil. Many natural products like these can be used for dogs and humans.
  3. Start to think about some of the chemicals we are exposing ourselves (and our pets) to daily. For example floor cleaners, laundry detergents, fabric softeners, and bath products. Our dogs and babies are always on the floors. We need to think about the residues/fumes left behind from what we use to clean. Distilled white vinegar cleans almost everything.
  4. Reduce, reuse, recycle!
  5. Be passionate about something! Adopt a shelter animal! If you can’t adopt a pet, foster! If you can’t foster, sponsor! If you can’t sponsor, volunteer!

Are you crunchy? What would you add to this list?

*Disclaimer: Neither Jessica nor I are doctors, veterinarians or nutritionists. Always consult with a professional before making major life or dietary changes for yourself or your pet.

About crystalwayward

I live with two formerly wayward dogs. I care deeply about the environment, and I think gardening is a revolutionary act.

Posted on March 15, 2012, in Environmentalism, Wayward Living and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. Cute baby!

    My mom used cloth diapers on me as a kid, but I think that was less about being crunchy and more about being poor.

    Later on in life I was horrified to learn I had been unwittingly using my former diapers as wash cloths. Ha

  2. Rachelle Mendonsa

    The great thing about grape seed extract is that it can also act as a natural anti-microbial. ,.'”*

    Hope This Helps! http://www.healthmedicinelab.com/ear-infection-treatment/

  1. Pingback: Sending your dog to someone else’s house « Wayward Dogs

  2. Pingback: Solving the Sergeant’s Piddle Problem | Wayward Dogs

Leave a Reply

