First sprouts of spring

If you follow Wayward Dogs on Facebook, you already saw our first little Hansel eggplant seedling, stretching out of its egg carton toward the light.

Last night, two more Hansel seedlings sprouted.

After spending a couple of days on our kitchen counter, our spring seedlings are now upstairs in our makeshift greenhouse. I outfitted the four-shelf baker’s rack with plant lights screwed into clip-on light fixtures. These fixtures let me point the artificial rays in the direction I want.

In an attempt to slow down the rapidness with which the soil in the egg cartons dries out, I have now covered everything with a thin layer of plastic or a clear glass container that helps trap moisture.

Now added to the variety of peppers and eggplants seeded last week are several varieties each of melons, squash, pumpkin and lettuce, plus cauliflower and Black Beauty eggplants.

We also suspended some of last summer’s sweet potatoes in a mason jar filled with water. In that sunny — and faux sunny — room, we hope that they will start slips (aka shoots) that we can plant later in the spring.

Are you a gardener who is starting plants from seeds this year? Have any of your babies sprouted yet?

About crystalwayward

I live with two formerly wayward dogs. I care deeply about the environment, and I think gardening is a revolutionary act.

Posted on March 4, 2012, in Gardening, Wayward Living and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. Yes, some of my babies are up and growing, and it makes me so excited! There really is nothing like the feeling of seeing the first seeds of the season come to life. You know that these are the plants that are going to accompany you all summer long, and hopefully provide you with lots of mouth-watering goodies. I’m trying a lot of new things this year (probably too many), but the ones I’m most excited about are my exotic-scented Holy basil, pineapple ground cherries (tomato-like plants bearing small, pineapple-flavored fruits), and Thai red roselle, which produces calyxes that can be used as cranberries in relish, etc. I think it’s going to be a very funny year. Happy gardening!

  2. I meant “fun” year. 🙂

  3. We started our seeds on February 19th and they are already making such great progress – especially the cherry tomatoes and the petunias! I am pretty excited to see more of how you do your planting so I can learn and hopefully have a more successful garden this year!

  1. Pingback: Letting nature take its course on the garden « Wayward Dogs

Leave a Reply

