Marketing with Moo cards

After we ended up with foster dog Charlie Machete, a couple of people recommended that I invest in MOO cards.

Uhhh, what?

Business cards. MOO is a just a brand that’s not very expensive and super easy to customize and order online.

It took me several months to follow through on the suggestion, but as soon as I checked out MOO’s website, I was intrigued. MOO just makes it so simple. Upload your photo — or choose some of their awesome stock imagery — and add your desired text, and in about a week, you have super professonal-looking double-sided business cards.

I opted for MOO’s famous minicards, which are half the size of a regular business card. I didn’t have a great photo of Machete at the time, so I chose one of MOO’s stock photo collections, which includes an assortment of beautiful dog photos.

For the information on the back, I included the tagline for this blog, the URL and Facebook page, plus the call to action “Find your next dog” followed by the URL for Machete’s adoptable page. In retrospect, I should have included my e-mail address.

Oh well, I can always order more.

100 cards came in this cute little box for less than $30.

image

How to use minicards or any business card to market your foster dog:

  • Give them to people you meet.
  • Leave two or three of them at the cash register of favorite stores and cafes.
  • Leave a few cards anywhere you leave a poster.

To be honest, I can’t tell yet how much the minicards are helping me market Machete. But I can say that whenever I whip out my MOOs for friends or new acquaintances, people get excited. The minicards have inherent novelty due to their size alone. Plus, mine all feature some crazy cute picture of a dog — of course they make people smile.

Also, MOO minicards look cool in this business card holder made of Jersualem stone that I received from the store Jerusalem Stone.

If you are thinking about ordering MOO cards to market your foster dog or for anything else, do me a solid, and use this link: http://www.moo.com/share/qc56wq

What attention-getting tactics have you used to market your foster dog, blog or business?

Related reading

Making your foster dog a walking billboard

About crystalwayward

I live with two formerly wayward dogs. I care deeply about the environment, and I think gardening is a revolutionary act.

Posted on March 2, 2012, in Fostering, Machete, Reviews and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 8 Comments.

  1. This is a great idea to market foster dogs!!! I have business cards for my blog that I made on Uprinting. I love the site because it has an assortment of products with an easy-to-use interface. They also have some great stock photos (I used a photo of my pups and some stock paw prints on mine).

    We continue to cheer for Machete and hope he finds his forever home soon! Keep up the great work, Crystal!!

    • Thanks for the support and good vibes, Deanna! Machete has actually had more interest lately, which helps us remain optimistic about his future. Someday all of these foster dog marketing tactics will pay off! 🙂

      I iwll check out Uprinting. Someone else also referred me to another Moo-like printing service based in California that is more eco-friendly. (Always a plus in my book!)

  1. Pingback: Machete Marketing: Poster Power « Wayward Dogs

  2. Pingback: Dog Park Dos and Don’ts | A Heartbeat at My Feet

  3. Pingback: Machete Marketing: His own Green Business Cards « Wayward Dogs

  4. Pingback: Remedy for a good time in Kansas City « Wayward Dogs

  5. Pingback: Machete Marketing: Display your adoptable goods « Wayward Dogs

  6. Pingback: From a Chicago shelter to the green grass of Kansas « Wayward Dogs

Leave a Reply

