Dogs of the Super Bowl

I have never cared much for football and don’t expect to watch the Super Bowl today — not even for the commercials.
Why bother? More than half of this year’s Super Bowl commercials were released early online, including this Volkswagen gem:

Volkswagen also released this ad (that totally freaks out our Luke):

Full-disclosure: I am a Volkswagen driver. However, in my driving dreams I have been rolling around in a Subaru lately. This is the second year in a row that the “Dog tested. Dog approved.” carmaker has skipped the Super Bowl and instead invited dog owners everywhere to participate in the Subaru Game Day Dog Walk.

Although I will surely be walking some dogs today, I forgot to register my participation, which means my pack cannot expect to receive any branded bandanas in the mail. (Feel free to send us free stuff, anyway, Subaru. A Forrester would be nice.)

The real reason I want a Subaru is that, apparently, you can fit a whole lotta dogs comfortably in one. And you can have the dogs drive:




Fun fact: Two of the dogs in the Subaru ads are rescue dogs. As a brand, Subaru seems very interested in appealing to dog owners, not only with ads like these and a whole line of promotional dog products but also through a visible relationship with the ASPCA. Some Subaru dealerships even host adoption events.

Of course, there’s more to the choice of what car to buy than whether or not the brand is dog-friendly. However, Subaru’s ads and actions sure do inspire a warm, fuzzy feeling.

And that’s a lot nicer feeling than the warm heat of rage that a recent McDonald’s advertising spot inspired in pit bull lovers across the nation.

What’s your favorite commercial with a dog in it? Will your pack watch the Super Bowl today?

About crystalwayward

I live with two formerly wayward dogs. I care deeply about the environment, and I think gardening is a revolutionary act.

Posted on February 5, 2012, in Dogs and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Great videos, thanks for sharing! We are so outraged over the whole McDonalds thing– I actually called and emailed McDonalds with my complaints. It is so terrible to have big businesses like this making these totally false, ridiculous claims and it’s very damaging to the breed itself when so many are working so hard to reverse stupid stereotypes like this!
    Sorry for the rant, I just can’t stand stuff like this!!!!

    Have a great day, Wayward Dogs 🙂

  2. What’s the Superbowl? 🙂 Dulcie and I watched Puppy Bowl and throughly enjoyed it!!

Leave a Reply

