First wayward save of 2012: Malakai

Yesterday, I posted about my friend Karen, who pulled over on her morning commute one day last September to offer help to a lost dog. Because of her, a family was reunited with a pet they probably feared was dead. Because of her, I pulled over on my morning commute this week, too, and picked up a hitchhiker dog.
image

That’s Malakai, a stunning, blue-eyed, black and white Siberian husky who accompanied me to work this Tuesday. (Sadly, I happened to mess up the camera on my phone about 15 minutes before I met him.)

When I saw this guy running in and out of rush hour traffic on Wornall Road, I confess I really didn’t want to stop. The first day back to the office after an 11-day holiday is not a good one to be late. But I knew I could spare about five minutes and hoped this obviously confused snowdog would be as eager for help as Karen’s rescue.

Lucky for him, he was. Lucky for me, the phone number on his ID tag was current.

Malakai’s bewildered owner answered on the fourth ring and explained that he was out of state but would send the relative who had been caring for the dog to my office right away. Just like Karen, I had to leave a strange dog alone in my car — on a very mild day. But sweet Malakai was a gentleman for his entire unattended 30 minutes.

I’m so happy that I was able to help this pretty guy get back with his family. And it’s all because they were responsible enough to have up-to-date contact information on his ID tag (unlike the six-toed dog Minnie and I ran into a couple months ago).

I’m probably preaching to the choir here, but I urge all of you to make sure your current phone number is listed on your pets’ ID tags and microchips. Updating the complete info on our dogs’ microchips is one of my New Year’s resolutions — I’m ashamed to say that both the address and phone number attached to Scooby’s chip are old.

Once again, Karen is part of the reason I’m gung-ho to get this done. Check back tomorrow to learn why.

About crystalwayward

I live with two formerly wayward dogs. I care deeply about the environment, and I think gardening is a revolutionary act.

Posted on January 5, 2012, in Dogs, Wayward Dog and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. When I moved and got married a few years ago, I knew that I would need to update Brutus’ microchip, but didn’t know how. I had the vet scan him for the type and number and then notified the microchip company about the change. I’ll be honest, it wasn’t easy…especially because Brutus was in mine and my ex-husbands name – I had to jump through hoops to get it to be my name alone.

    I also meant to chip Dixie and every time we went to the vet we got wrapped in something else and forgot. We finally made an appointment just for that about a year ago and I am happy to say that now all of our pooches are chipped and have current information on their tags and chips 🙂

    • I have tried to update Scooby’s chip a few times with no success. It’s my goal to get it done ASAP — especially now that he is becoming an old dog who coughs a lot and so therefore does not regularly wear a collar.

  2. Your dog rescue stories always make me a little teary eyed! LOVE love love what you do for animals:)

  3. Crystal…..What a honorable task in finding the owners to a dog lost in heavy traffic! I’m sure you saved alot of tears for this family. I am proud of you! MOM

  4. What a lucky dog to have you looking out for him. I’m sure he and his owners are very grateful to you.

    May I also suggest that people get their microchips checked at any vet check-ups and visits, as these sometimes migrate and can be missed by the scanner. I had to get one of my dogs rechipped as the chip had migrated to his leg!!!

  1. Pingback: How We Helped Dogs in 2012 « Wayward Dogs

Leave a Reply

