Hitchhiker dog on I-435

Back in September, while Zach and I vacationed in Portland, our friend Karen sent me the photo above. Unfortunately, I never got around to posting the awesome story, until now.

First: Here’s a bit you should know about Karen. She has fostered many dogs over the years, including our very own Luke and Meatball (later re-named Charlie). She typically fosters through The Animal Rescue Alliance and always offers to help however she can whenever I stumble across a wayward dog.

So, it did not surprise me at all when Karen told me she picked up a hitchhiker dog on Interstate 435 one morning on her way to work. Instinctively, upon spotting the dog, Karen pulled over and opened her car door. Obviously desperate for help, the dog hopped right in. “He was so close to getting into rush hour, 435 traffic, I can’t imagine what might have happened if my timing had been any later,” she says.

Because she was headed to work, Karen didn’t have time to take the dog directly to a vet or shelter. Fortunately, the weather that day was mild, so she drove the dog to the office, parked her car beneath a shady tree, within view of her desk, and cracked the windows. “He just stared out the passenger side back window the whole time,” she recalls.

Over her lunch hour, Karen took the wayward dog to a vet to be scanned for a microchip. As it turned out, he had one, and a call to his frantic owners revealed that he’d been gone for about 18 hours. Sadly, they were also missing an elderly dog with whom he’d run off.

“The story ended well for my guy, though,” Karen says. “Within a few hours of finding him, he was back in the arms of his grateful and loving owner. His whole demeanor changed when he saw them. He was full of kisses for ‘his’ kids.”

I consider this happy-ish ending a tribute both to my friend’s kind spirit and the importance of considering a microchip for your pet. Check back tomorrow to see how Karen inspired my latest wayward dog rescue.

Has a microchip ever helped you get your pet back — or return someone else’s?

About crystalwayward

I live with two formerly wayward dogs. I care deeply about the environment, and I think gardening is a revolutionary act.

Posted on January 4, 2012, in Awesome, Wayward Dog and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 7 Comments.

  1. I like happy endings! But I can’t help but wonder if the other dog’s fate was so happy.

  2. So good to hear a happy ending to a story – I really don’t think people realize how important microchipping your dog is. And not only microchipping them, but keeping the phone number and address associated with said chip up to date. Super duper important!

  3. Whoa! What a great story. No, I haven’t had to use my chip (thank doGness), but We have been so thankful that the wayward doggies We’ve found have all had collars. Whew.

    Hey, I can’t figure out how to “like” your posts!

    Happy New Year,

    Arooo, Stuart

  4. I meant – collars WITH NAMES AND PHONE NUMBERS. I’m all paws….

  5. DUH…I figured it out. The “like” thing I mean.

    I should just go back to bed today.

  1. Pingback: First wayward save of 2012: Malakai « Wayward Dogs

  2. Pingback: Karen’s good dog karma and a challenge to help wayward dogs « Wayward Dogs

Leave a Reply

