Does Jerusalem stone make good fertilizer?

image

Last week, I wrote about the awesome, local, upcycled art available on most Second Saturdays at Jerusalem Stone, a local shop in the Waldo neighborhood where I live.

As I noted before, Jerusalem Stone doesn’t look like much from the outside. In fact, located on a dead-end street, it’s easy to miss. The shop specializes in beautiful dolomitic limestone imported from the Middle East for use in decoration and design projects for homes and businesses.

Currently, I’m not in the market for a slab of the ancient stone, but one of the shop owners informed me that the material known as Jerusalem stone serves another purpose: enriching soil.

Composed of calcium and magnesium, dolomitic limestone can be used as an organic supplement in soils lacking those minerals. In conversation with me, the shop owner credited the vitality of the peach and cherry trees planted at her store’s entrance to the Jerusalem stone in the surrounding soil. She said that she and her husband also use the stone in their home orchard and sell it to other local farmers.

Through some perfunctory research online, I discovered a lot of support for the helpful properties of carefully applied dolomitic lime in the garden, as well as some debate over its benefits. Considering we last spring we planted a mini orchard of our own, consisting of seven fruit and nut trees plus various berry bushes, I am very curious to learn more.

Fellow gardeners: Have you used dolomitic limestone to enrich your soil?

About crystalwayward

I live with two formerly wayward dogs. I care deeply about the environment, and I think gardening is a revolutionary act.

Posted on December 28, 2011, in Gardening and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Very interesting, I didn’t know you can turn stones into fertelizer

  1. Pingback: Marketing with Moo cards « Wayward Dogs

Leave a Reply

