Awesome local, upcycled art

Are you ready for the holidays? I’m not.

I have accomplished very little shopping so far. Some of what I have gotten done occured within a tiny Waldo neighborhood shop that I recently visited for the first time.

Jerusalem Stone doesn’t look like much from the outside. In fact, located on a dead-end Waldo street, it’s easy to miss.

The shop specializes in beautiful, imported stone for use in decoration and design projects for homes and businesses. A few times a year, though, the shop turns into the site of a market for beautiful and unique handmade and vintage items.

Many of the artists incorporate found and recycled objects into their creations. When I was there last Saturday, I saw baby angels with real moth wings, jewelry made with reclaimed copper, gorgeous hand bags constructed of discarded upholstery and fabric scraps, and Boulevard beer caps dangling from earrings.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

The slideshow above includes some of the items I saw. I especially love the sturdy and reusable totes upcycled from old rice, kitty litter and dog food bags. Those are the creations of the Green Bag Ladies and also available on Etsy.

I bought a tote made from an Ol’ Roy dog food bag for Zach’s mother’s birthday last week, a bolt of handmade fabric from Jerusalem and four fragrant bars of handcrafted goat’s milk soap. She loved it all.

Typically, the market happens on the second Saturday of the month, but it stretched over three Saturdays in December for the holidays and now won’t resume again until March. You can learn more about the artists and market at the Second Saturdays at Jerusalem Stone page on Facebook.

Who is left on your holiday shopping list?

About crystalwayward

I live with two formerly wayward dogs. I care deeply about the environment, and I think gardening is a revolutionary act.

Posted on December 22, 2011, in Art, Awesome and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Daniel has been trying to get me to go to this forever and I’ve always said, “it looks gross on the outside.” Shame on me! Now I have to wait until March to check it out….boo! Glad you got some cool stuff though – thanks for sharing!

  1. Pingback: Does Jerusalem stone make good fertilizer? « Wayward Dogs

Leave a Reply

