A gift for King Luxor’s new servants


I had Magnet Lady Kathleen Henn create the piece of custom art above as a Christmas gift, but I liked it so well that I gave it to Luxor‘s mama several weeks early. Luxor, a stunningly handsome lynx point Siamese with the bluest eyes, is totally one of those cats that runs the house. For the three years he spent with me and my ever-evolving pack, he demanded respect from every dog and person he encountered. Sometimes, he did this through sweetness. (“I am throwing myself at your feet to request pets.”) Sometimes, he did it through mean-ness. (“I will crouch here in this corner until you walk by and then launch my 18-pound body at you and sink my razor-sharp cat teeth into your skin!”)

Luxor took over a new kingdom a few months ago — the home of Zach’s sister and her husband. I think they love him even more than we did.

Regardless, there will no doubt be a gift for Luxor under our Christmas tree this year.

image

As you can see, we finally got the Norfolk Island Pine decorated. If he still lived in our house, I am sure Luxor would approve — by batting around the ornaments and ingesting (to his possible detriment) the branches. (I do not miss policing the houseplants from his curiosity.)

Luckily, our dogs still don’t seem to be interested in the living Christmas tree. Santa Claws will surely reward them for their good behavior.

What’s under your tree for your pets this year?

About crystalwayward

I live with two formerly wayward dogs. I care deeply about the environment, and I think gardening is a revolutionary act.

Posted on December 19, 2011, in Awesome, Cats and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 7 Comments.

  1. I might have gone a little overboard this year in regards to presents 🙂 They got an early present on Friday (check out today’s blog post). Under the tree is a new Sirius Republic collar for each of them, a thundershirt for Dixie, a Molly Mutt bed for Brutus and an assortment of toys from FetchDog for Boney. I’m sure there will also be some treats from Santa Claws, but those won’t make it into their stockings until Christmas Eve 🙂

  1. Pingback: Mele Kalikimaka for the dogs « Wayward Dogs

  2. Pingback: From animal lover to animal advocate « Wayward Dogs

  3. Pingback: Hiring a sitter for your house and pets while you travel « Wayward Dogs

  4. Pingback: Boarding your pets when you go on vacation « Wayward Dogs

Leave a Reply

