Chomps and Sexy Rexy, formerly wayward dogs

Had there been a best name component to the recent Wayward Dogs Magnet Contest, I think one of these two dogs might have won. Of course, you already knew that because each dog was identified by name in the contest. What you didn’t know is that each of these little guys is a rescue dog.

Chomps is a member of a three-rescue-dog household in the Kansas City metro. A formerly wayward dachshund/chihuahua mix found running in the streets of Overland Park, his owner adopted him from Animal Haven (now Heartland SPCA) in 2010. Having been bitten by the love bug for Chomps unexpectedly, she compares him to an “oops” baby. “He was not planned,” she says. “People laugh when I tell them that.”

Sexy Rexy used to be a streetwalker, too. Here’s what his owner had to say about him:

“He was found wandering the streets of KC. After he was hit by a car, my nephew scooped him up so he wouldn’t die alone.  Much to his suprise Rex jumped up and tried to run off.  After a brief stay with my mother, whose favorite thing to do was watch Animal Planet and smoke cigarettes, he is now living with me and my husband. He travels with us everywhere, walks thru airports like he has done it his whole life. He is the best little guy.”

I love to hear stories of formerly wayward dogs. Do you have one? If so, please share it in the comments or send it to me at crystalwayward@gmail.com.

About crystalwayward

I live with two formerly wayward dogs. I care deeply about the environment, and I think gardening is a revolutionary act.

Posted on November 28, 2011, in Awesome and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. So wonderful these little scamps found forever homes!

    Both my current fosters were wayward pups–Fozzie especially has come a long way! He started out in the section of the shelter called “disaster” where they put the ones who had failed their evaluations and were waiting for euthanasia. Now he is the cuddliest, sweetest, most loving velvety man imaginable.

    Thanks for spreading the word about the wonder of rescue!

  2. Great stories for both of these guys! Love the 3-rescue-dog house– just like me and my crew + kitty from the streets!

    I’m still hoping you find a wayward Schnauzer someday soon 🙂

  1. Pingback: She helped a homeless dog get to Harvard « Wayward Dogs

Leave a Reply

