Two new tales of wayward dogs


In the interest of being fair, I did not include the stories of the dogs whose photos were submitted for the Wayward Dogs Photo Contest. Not everyone submitted a story, and that’s OK. The stories that did come in almost universally brought tears to my eyes. Most of them concern formerly wayward dogs.

I reserve the right to bring tears to your eyes with those stories at a later date — after the contest ends. (That’s Friday, by the way — don’t forget to vote.)

Instead, allow me to explain this little spook:

Spooky Chihuahua

Scruffy and scared, the little long-haired Chihuahua was patrolling a Waldo street on Halloween night, running up to trick-or-treaters and other pedestrians, teeth-bared, just before dusk. From a distance I thought he must be with someone, but as Luke, Machete and I neared, I noticed that everyone who passed the little guy just kept walking. As we neared, he took a few growly steps toward us, and I could see that his fur was patchy and scraggly. He truly resembled a little Halloween demon.

Unable to safely attempt catching him with my big boys in tow, I took them home and returned to the spot with a pair of thick gloves, a leash and a doggy treat, but the Chihuahua was gone. None of the neighbors on nearby porches seemed to have noticed where he’d gone.

I felt bad. The night was chilly, and that little guy reminded me so much of Scooby. I hope he wasn’t really a stray, and that he got home somehow that evening.

Although I haven’t seen that poor devil again, I am glad I was able to help the last wayward dog I ran into get back to him owners. Last Friday night, a medium-sized yellow dog named Carter greeted me in the middle of the street. He was dragging a ten-foot tether behind him, but seemed otherwise healthy and happy. The address on his tag indicated that he’d wandered about 10 blocks. I called the number, and his frantic owners met me in less than five minutes.

Dogs like these are the reason I started this blog:

Meatball the Boston Terrier

Loose dogs — be they stray, dumped or neighborhood wanderers — are common in my part of town. Fortunately, we are not to the point of roving packs of feral dogs, but unattended roamers like those above (Spot, Stella and Meatball) aren’t unusual at all. I stumble upon lost dogs often enough to be grateful that organizations like Friends of KC Animals and The Animal Rescue Alliance exist to help deal with them.

It’s not laid out too nicely right now, but I have been keeping track of these incidents on the Stats page. I look forward to presenting a nice round-up of the data for you at the end of the year.

Is this the project of a crazy dog lady? Maybe. Are there bigger problems in the world? Definitely.

But I think I’m in good company. A third of people say their pet dogs started out as strays, according to the Seattle Post-Intelligencer.

So, tell me: What’s your wayward dog story?

About crystalwayward

I live with two formerly wayward dogs. I care deeply about the environment, and I think gardening is a revolutionary act.

Posted on November 16, 2011, in Wayward Dog and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. I don’t see too many stray dogs on my side of Waldo, but when I do, I almost always try to grab them and find out where they live. It doesn’t make you a crazy dog lady – it makes you awesome!

  2. Thanks for stopping by our blog! I love this post; how great you were able to get Carter back to his family. In Miami where I live, the stray dog population is out of control. Our newest baby, Chelsea is a stray and one of the sweetest babies ever. Our cat is also a stray we rescued on the verge of death. I love saving animals…and yes, you are dog-crazy, just like me and many others 😀 it’s a good thing!

  1. Pingback: A tribute to Gretchen the gentle German Shepherd « Wayward Dogs

Leave a Reply

